Rules and Regulations

Encouraging commuters that work in Kitsap County targeted areas to use alternatives to driving alone to work, by offering a ‘smart option’ for personal errands

Registration: Drivers must register and remain current with Kitsap Transit’s Smart Commuter Program and work in a targeted SCOOT area.  Click here for the SCOOT Application.  Your driving record must be approved in order to become a SCOOT member..

Abstracts: All drivers must sign a release which will give Kitsap Transit permission to retrieve their driving record.  Kitsap Transit will periodically review all driving records.

Driver's License: Drivers must be at least 21 years old and have five years of driving experience.  Drivers must maintain a valid Washington State Driver's License.  Drivers must carry their Washington State Driver's License when driving the SCOOT vehicle.  If your driver’s license is suspended or revoked for any reason, or if it expires SCOOT driving privileges will be revoked immediately.

Insurance: Drivers must have their own auto insurance coverage. If the driver has an accident and is at fault, the drivers’ insurance coverage is primary and the liability insurance coverage provided by Kitsap Transit is excess or secondary. Kitsap Transit's liability insurance coverage limits are as follows: (1) bodily injury - $300,000 and (2) property damage - $100,000. A driver’s bodily injury is not covered under Kitsap Transit's policy.

Driving Record:  Drivers with the following items on their driving records will not be eligible to participate in SCOOT:

Never Eligible Offenses: Any conviction surrounding a fatal accident (vehicular homicide, manslaughter, etc.), using a vehicle in commission of a felony, and/or vehicular assault appears on their driving record.

10 Year Ineligible Offenses: Any conviction for negligent driving, reckless driving, hit and run, leaving an accident scene, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

5 Year Ineligible Offenses: Any conviction for suspension/revocation related to a 4 point offense.

3 Year Ineligible Offenses: Any conviction or combination of convictions earning 4 or more points (see table).

Points Related to Accidents in a SCOOT Vehicle or Personal Vehicle

1- Accident (not at fault)
2-Accident (at fault)

Not at fault means Kitsap Transit concludes the most responsible party in the accident was NOT the SCOOT driver or SCOOT driver applicant. Accidents involving animals, wild or domestic, may be deemed as NO fault without points.  Also, no additional points are added for the accident being in the transit agency vehicle.

SCOOT Driver Eligibility / Retention Offense Point Table



1+ point Add a point to any offense if the offense occurred in the Kitsap Transit vehicle
2 Operating without lights on
2 Carpool lane violation
2 Driving on the shoulder
2 Driving without insurance
2 Failure to appear
2 Failure to signal
2 Following too close
2 Impeding traffic (traveling too slowly)
2 Improper lane travel
2 Speeding (0-8 mph)
3 Failure to yield to emergency vehicle
3 Speeding (9-12 mph)
3 Deferred proscecution for any offense that in NOT negligent driving, reckless driving, hit and run, leaving an accident scene, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
3 Driving without a valid license
3 Improper child restraint
3 Red light camera violation
3 Seatbelt violation
4 Cell phone use or texting violation
4 Deferred prosecution for negligent driving, reckless driving, hit and run, leaving an accident scene, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
4 Driving too fast for conditions
4 Failure to yield or stop; disobeying a road sign
4 Illegal passing, turning or lane change
4 Open alcohol container
4 Speeding (13 mph over the speed limit)
4 Speeding in a school zone
4 Violation of bus stop paddle

SCOOT reserves the right to suspend or terminate a driver for any reason.

Orientation: All members must participate in a SCOOT Car Orientation. All members will need to sign an agreement and provide a copy of a valid Washington State driver’s license and insurance.

Program materials include:

  • SCOOT member rules and regulations
  • Car reservations system
  • SCOOT car utilizations
  • Car breakdown/accident procedures
  • Late procedures

Deposit for Key card: Kitsap Transit will issue you a key card at no charge. There will be a $20.00 charge for each key card replacement.

Emergency Repairs: You must call 360-876-7433 for approval of an emergency repair.

Fueling: Kitsap Transit provides the fuel for the car. Please let us know if the fuel level drops below half a tank.

Scheduling: Click here to make a reservation https://fleet.invers.com/kat/default.aspx. SCOOT usage is limited from 7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday (except holidays). To schedule a car during the peak hours of 11:00 a.m. through 2:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, reservations must be made no more than five days in advance. Reservations for the car during peak hours are limited to a maximum of three times per week. Same day reservations are on a first come first served basis. For non-peak hours, vehicles may be reserved up to 30 days in advance.

Late fees: If the car is returned late, you will be responsible for the taxi fare for the person(s) booked after you. You will also be charged $10.00 for returning the car up to five minutes late, $25.00 for being 10 minutes late, and an additional $5.00 for each minute over 10 minutes. All fees will be billed to you. Two late car returns will result in the forfeiture of your SCOOT membership.

Absent car at the time of your reservation: Please call 360-876-7433. Kitsap Transit will arrange a taxi ride for you.

Tickets/Towing: It is your responsibility as the driver to pay any parking or impound fees incurred while the car is reserved under your name. If Kitsap Transit is notified of an expense that occurred during the time that the car was reserved under your name, that charge will be billed to you.

Children riding in the car: As prescribed by law, children are required to ride in the back seat and in a certified child/booster seat. You are responsible for providing and installing the child/booster seat.

Valid Driver's License: You must have a valid Washington State Driver's License.

Changing trips: If you have reserved a vehicle and need to change all or part of your trip, please call 360-876-7433.

Cancellations: If you have reserved a vehicle and need to cancel all or part of your trip, please 360-876-7433.

Suspension and Termination: Kitsap Transit reserves the right to suspend or terminate your SCOOT membership at any time.

Availability: Kitsap Transit will make every effort to ensure the vehicle you reserved is there for you. Kitsap Transit shall not be held liable for any missed appointments.

Cleanliness: SCOOT cars are to remain clean. Cars must be cleared of trash at the end of each trip. Leaving trash in a car may result in a cleaning charge and/or termination of your SCOOT membership. Please report to SCOOT any car that you find in less than satisfactory condition.

Returns: The car must be returned on time and clean. The car must be parked in a SCOOT designated parking space. Failure to do so may result in the termination your SCOOT membership.

Disruption of service: Kitsap Transit is not responsible for any unplanned disruption of service.

Vehicle inspection: Pre-trip inspections are required before driving the car. It is your responsibility to make sure there is no damage to the car. If you notice damage, please mark it on your pre-trip inspection card and call Kitsap Transit at 360-876-7433. You must drop your card in the pre-trip inspection box before you start your trip. Without a pre trip inspection, you may be held liable for any damage to the car. The inspection box is emptied daily.

Travel Boundaries: Cars are not to leave Kitsap County.

Bad weather: In the case of ice and snow, we reserve the right to cancel the use of the cars.

Attachments to vehicles: Nothing shall be attached to the vehicle.

Emergency Drivers: If the life or safety of the driver is in danger, you may allow another licensed driver to operate the vehicle.

Accidents: All accidents must be reported to 911 immediately then call Kitsap Transit at 360-876-7433. There is an accident kit in the car. Please follow the instructions in the kit.

Usage: Cars are to be used for personal use only within Kitsap County. Cars are not to be used as a staff vehicle or for business purposes.

Smoking: There is NO SMOKING or VAPING allowed in SCOOT cars.

Drivers shall follow all Washington State Traffic Laws at all times. 

Enter complete home and work addresses below for the most accurate list results. Visit RideshareOnline.com to create and view custom trip lists with additional search filters, personal trip calendar, and available rewards.

Find a Vanpool Seat


Reasons to Use Kitsap Transit

No. 26

Shout out to KT drivers!

...always pleasant to grumpy morning commuters

see all

Rider Stories

view all
pic button

Helpful Videos

view all
pic button

Ways to Share


60 Washington Avenue, Suite 200, Bremerton, WA 98337 Visit our office Phone: (360) 373-2877 or 1-800-501-RIDE